You are here

Facts about world time zone map

User login

Are you amazed how the time zone map works? In this article, you’ll be amazed on various facts that you may not even hear before. Let’s take a short trip around the world through the amazing facts below:

Britain and Greenland, same time zone
Yes, you read it right. Britain and Greenland have the same time zone even though Greenland is located in the middle of North Atlantic. There are some areas in Greenland that use the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). The areas include some part of the Northeast Greenland National Park and the weather station of Danmarkshavn. Click here to know more about world time zone map.

Holiday without turning the clocks
If you want a holiday location that has few visitors every year, visit Sao Tome and Principe. This location is a great getaway if you want to have a relaxing vacation. Located off the coast of West Africa, the location has no daily papers, cinema and buses. The archipelago offers a simple life with a charming river.

One time zone, yet, biggest country
If you’re familiar with the United States time zone, you know that it has nine different time zones. However, if we’ll identify a country with a large land area, nothing beats China. Even though it has an area of 3,705,407 square miles – being the largest country in the world, it has one time zone in all parts of the country. The country uses GMT+8.

Most time zones, one country
If you’re thinking that the answer for the country with the most time zones is the United States, we’re sorry but you’re wrong. The correct answer is France. In fact, the country has 12 different time zones, which include UTC−10:00 ( most of French Polynesia), UTC−09:30 (Marquesas Islands), UTC−09:00 (Gambier Islands), UTC−08:00 (Clipperton Island), UTC−04:00 (AST) (Guadeloupe, Saint Martin Martinique, Saint Barthélemy), UTC−03:00 (PMST) (Saint Pierre , French Guiana and Miquelon), UTC+01:00 (CET) (Metropolitan France), UTC+03:00 (Mayotte), UTC+04:00 (Réunion), UTC+05:00 (Crozet Islands, Kerguelen Islands), UTC+11:00 (New Caledonia) and UTC+12:00 (Wallis and Futuna).